• News
  • Board of Director Election Ballots in the Mail This Month

Board of Director Election Ballots in the Mail This Month

Board of Director Election Ballots in the Mail This Month

Look for Your Sam Houston Electric Cooperative Election Ballot! Keep a close watch on your mailbox this month. You will receive your Board of Directors election ballot in the mail in early October.

To vote, complete and mail the ballot in the enclosed envelope (included in the ballot booklet) so that it is received by 10 a.m., Monday, Nov. 3, 2014.

Ballots received by Oct. 28, 2014, will be eligible to win one of the many great prizes in the early bird drawing. A quorum of at least 10 percent of our membership represented by ballot is required to elect the Board of Directors. The Sam Houston EC Board is the guiding light of the Cooperative—looking after your best interests as a member-owner. And, as a member-owner, you have a responsibility to vote!

The Sam Houston EC Elections Committee met on July 22, 2014, and reviewed all candidates for election. Three incumbents running for re-election were placed on the ballot.

The Directors up for re-election in 2014 are Casey Evans Davis, District 1, representing Angelina, Polk and Trinity Counties; Truitt Thomson, District 2, representing San Jacinto County; and Chuck Turner, District 4, representing Liberty and Hardin Counties. The committee received no petitions for election from the membership.

We’re meeting earlier this year! Join us Tuesday, Nov. 4, 2014, at the Polk County Commerce Center in Livingston. The meeting will begin at 1:30 p.m. There is plenty of parking close to the Commerce Center, which is located at 1015 North 59 Loop in Livingston (entrance at Pedigo Park). Shuttles will be available from the parking area to the facility.