• News
  • Sam Houston EC Awards $81,000 to Local High School Seniors

Sam Houston EC Awards $81,000 to Local High School Seniors

 Sam Houston EC Awards $81,000 to Local High School Seniors

Sam Houston Electric Cooperative awards scholarships each year to high school seniors whose parents or guardians are active consumer-members of the Cooperative.

The money that funds the scholarship program comes from unclaimed capital credits that are returned to the Cooperative by the state of Texas and earmarked for scholarships.

After careful consideration of applicants’ academic achievements, activities, college plans, financial need and personal recommendations, Sam Houston EC awarded $81,000 in scholarships to 30 students. Scholarship winners may apply the funds toward tuition and fees at the Texas college or university of their choice.

Since its inception in 1992, the scholarship program has awarded more than $1.5 million to nearly 800 local students.

$3,000 Scholarship Winners

Triston Dale Batchelor, Leggett
Anneliese Marie Beasley, Trinity
Kimberly Yvette Blackmann, Coldspring-Oakhurst
Brelynn Angele Ellisor, Coldspring-Oakhurst
Hannah Leigh Foster, Caney Creek
Elisa Del Carmen Gomez, Willis
Jaycee Breann Graham, Onalaska
Litzy Margarita Guardiola, Splendora
Maxwell Jamison Irving, Coldspring-Oakhurst
Leslie Celeste Lagunas, Dayton
Kevin Bennett McCarther, Tarkington
Whitney Faith Moody, Hardin-Jefferson
Tinley Renee Parker, Hardin
Kate Delaney Phillips, New Waverly
Rachel Emilie Risinger, Woodville
Sarah Elizabeth Roberts, Hardin
Kathleen Helen Ronaghan, Woodville
Isabelle Cameron Leeann Scott, Huntington
Dylan Carter Shannon, Livingston
Maria Sigala, Caney Creek
Kylie Shae Sisk, Onalaska
Marci Kayla Smith, New Waverly
Natalya Celeste Soto, Corrigan-Camden
Reese Katelin Turner, Kountze

$1,500 Vocational Scholarship Winners

Jerry Wayne Bowen II, Big Sandy
Chloe Elizabeth Cox, Big Sandy
Brandon Joseph Izaguirre, Goodrich
Liliana Ochoa, Corrigan-Camden
Xzavier Andres Silva, Diboll
Brayden Kole White, Livingston