• News
  • Sam Houston EC Members to Elect Board of Directors

Sam Houston EC Members to Elect Board of Directors

Sam Houston Electric Cooperative members can look for their Board of Director election ballot in the mail this month. Voting in the election will be easier this year than it has ever been, with a new option for members to vote online.

All Sam Houston EC members will still receive a paper ballot as well, so they can mail in their ballot if they prefer. The election will open on May 11, and members who have their email address listed on their Sam Houston EC account will receive an email giving instructions on how to vote online. Members can also follow the online voting instructions that will accompany the ballot that will be mailed. Both electronic (online) and mail-in votes will be eligible for the prize drawings at the 2015 Annual Meeting of Members next month.

Ballots must be received, either online or by mail, no later than 10 a.m., Monday, June 8, 2015.

Members who complete their ballot by the early bird deadline of June 2, 2015, will be eligible for a grand prize drawing that will take place at the Co-op’s Annual Meeting of Members on June 9, 2015. Prizes include a Club Car Electric Golf Cart, a $2,000 bill credit, a HD television, and an Apple iPad. Members do not need to be present at the Annual Meeting to win the early voting prizes.

To elect the Board of Directors, a quorum of at least 10 percent of the membership is required. To ensure equal representation of more than 53,000 Sam Houston EC members living in 10 counties, the Cooperative’s service territory is divided into five districts. Collectively, there are 11 Board members, each living in the district that they serve.

The Cooperative Elections Committee met on March 10, 2015, and reviewed all candidates for election. Two incumbents running for re-election were placed on the ballot. The committee received no petitions for election from the membership.

District 1, serving Angelina, Polk and Trinity Counties, and District 3, serving Jasper and Tyler Counties have Directors up for re-election. The candidates recommended by the Elections Committee are Milton Purvis, District 1, and Robert C. Boyd, District 3.

“As a member-owner, you are an important part of the decision-making and policy setting at the Co-op,” Sam Houston EC general manager and CEO Kyle J. Kuntz wrote in a letter published in the ballot booklet sent to members. “That means you have the right to vote annually for your Board of Directors.”

The Co-op’s Annual Meeting has been moved from November to June. Sam Houston EC members are encouraged to mark their calendars for the Annual Meeting of Members taking place on Tuesday, June 9, 2015. The meeting will once again be held at the Polk County Commerce Center in Livingston. There is plenty of parking close to the Commerce Center, which is located at 1017 North 59 Loop in Livingston (entrance at Pedigo Park). Shuttles will be available from the parking area to the facility.

Registration will begin at 12 p.m. and the meeting will commence at 1:30 p.m. Snacks and entertainment will be provided. Door prizes including home electronics, power tools, electric bill credits, and gift cards from area retailers will be given away. Cooperative managers will also report on Co-op business, including the announcement of the Board of Director election results.